Skip to content

Is there also a convenience charge for breathing in the hotel?

February 5, 2010

Dear hotel-that-thinks-basketball-is-more-important-than-my-wedding:

I understand May is a very popular time to get married. I also understand that our city has an extremely popular basketball team (with a few extremely popular players). However, the possibility that our team might be in the NBA Finals is not a reason to jack up prices at your hotel for my wedding weekend.

Let me explain: Your lovely sales manager, let’s call her…Tiffany, was very personable and knowledgeable. She showed me a variety of rooms, including rooms for my guests as well as a gorgeous bridal suite. We also planned on using your hotel for our back up picture location if the weather didn’t cooperate. Sadly my guests will not grace your hotel with their presence and our photographers will not capture the beautiful architecture you’ve worked so hard to preserve.

Why is this, you might ask? Well, Tiffany informed me that the hotel is expecting our hometown basketball team to be in the Playoffs and therefore must anticipate a higher demand for rooms. Just so we’re clear, let me hash this out a bit. You’re telling me that because the team *might* be in the playoffs and *might* have a game that exact weekend in the city, you want to charge my guests $170 a NIGHT.

Please tell me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure there is no way of knowing when or where playoff games are happening until the end of the season at the earliest. Also, by the end of May there will already have been at least one round of playoffs. What if our beloved team is knocked out in the first round? Well, that certainly would be embarrassing…for you. Why? Because we chose to go with a different, nicer, more accommodating, and less expensive hotel. They beat your price by $56.

So thank you for showing me where your priorities are, hotel. Oh, just so you know, my bridesmaids thought about booking a room with you for my bachelorette party, and I told them under no circumstances were they to do business with you. And trust me, I’ll be passing that sentiment along to anyone else who mentions your name.

Sincerely,
The Wrong Bride to Piss Off

Ps, maybe tell Tiffany to rethink her sales tactics.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 1:43 pm

    Bitches. (The hotel, not the bride. Duh.)

  2. February 7, 2010 3:28 pm

    Ewwwww absolutely NOT cool.

Leave a comment