Skip to content

FMIL tries on ring BEFORE proposal?!

February 5, 2010

Dear FMIL from Hades:

For the last month, you have effortlessly ruined the most happiest time of my life. Newly engaged and on top of the world, right after you heard the word that I said yes, your first comment was “Yeah, I knew it was coming. I tried the ring on when he got it. It fit me perfectly.”

Now, my FMIL, some brides may have chuckled at the pure irony that we have the same ring size—-or even the fact that their fiance let this happen. I, on the other hand, should have taken this as more of a warning sign. More of a “GET A HANDLE ON THIS NOW before that crazy woman ruins this whole engagement.” Instead, I gave a nervous laugh and a “oh, that’s nice” sort of comment. Big mistake.

I now have learned my lesson that I should have stopped it right there. Instead of making a polite comment about how “different” or “strange” it was that she would take it upon herself to take my beautiful, shiny, new and made-just-for-me engagement ring out of the non-yet-seen-a-proposal box and put it on her finger. Since that time, you have not only shown me a side of you that I never EVER thought could possibly exist, but you also have shown your loving son a side of you that he would have never dreamed of.

Through your constant negative remarks, reluctance to put forth information, guest list, or even sit down to discuss the upcoming wedding, and “poor leftout me” approach, you have officially made me leary of our future of having a positive, loving, trusting relationship as any hopeful daughter-in-law should look forward to. Then, the only time you came around to being pleasent, it was after you had unexpectedly got your way. Luckily for us all, you came out of the whole sha-bang looking like a perfect saint that “only wants the two of us to have the most perfect wedding day possible.” Just a sidenote for you: You did NOT win. And now that your son has seen your true colors, you will never win.

I know that everything seems to have glossed over with us for now, but I haven’t forgotten the way you treated me. I can’t really even put my finger on a possible number of years that it may take me to forget either. If you were trying to display a message: Message received.

Sincerely,

Your Son’s Future Wife: Formerly known as Your Son’s Sweet Girlfriend

P.S. Sometimes I just want to say to you “Listen Lady, back off or you will NEVER see those grandkids we are going to make you someday.” See, there are consequences for everything.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kjpugs permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:17 am

    You and I could be best friends. The first thing FMIL said when I told her my Mister proposed was “I KNOW!” Oh gee, how nice of you to congratulate me. But that’s a whole ‘nother letter.

    I especially loved the part about your grandkids! 🙂 Well played.

  2. February 5, 2010 10:08 am

    Wow, that is all kinds of f’ed up.

Leave a comment