Skip to content

Purgatory

June 16, 2010

Dear Guests at My Wedding,

Thank you so much for coming to my wedding almost 1 year ago. Have I told you how much I appreciated it? Oh wait, no, I’m sorry, I haven’t. But I will be sending out thank you cards this week. Yes, I am just squeaking in under the 1 year deadline…

However, to the guests that are demanding a thank you card, yes I know you want to be thanked. I get it! Trust me, it causes me no end of stress that the suckers still aren’t done. However, asking my father repeatedly where your thank you card is, is quite, frankly, rude. And then when I ask him to take it to you, minus an envelope (cos that takes time that I don’t have) for a rather crappy gift (excuse me, a small painting painted by you? Could you BE more cheap?), you don’t even acknowledge it. No “it’s lovely, how hard she must have worked on these”, no “what beautiful pictures she chose”. NOTHING. Instead I get a report of “Why didn’t she call me? Why didn’t she bring it over herself?”. My favourite complaint has to be the person who complained of no thank you card yet who gave us TWENTY dollars. Yes, that’s it. Honey, you wanted to become friends again, and not only do you trash my wedding (for being too secular, Miss “I’ve seen the light; I am almost an Amish person”), you hound me for a thank you for a $20 bill, what do you expect me to do? Hop to it? I didn’t go to your shotgun wedding, but I heard about it and how much money you got. I don’t have time for endless emails about how you are disappointed you haven’t received a thank you yet. And the whole friends again thing? Hmmm, maybe not.

That brings me to my next point. The reason why the stupid cards haven’t gone out yet is because I WORK.ALL.THE.TIME. There is no time to finish them. No time you say? Yes, that is exactly what I say because it is TRUE. Between 80-100 work weeks, I barely have time for my own husband, much less thank you cards. However, I do want to thank you all. Really I do.

At least I’m not that bride who NEVER sent a thank you. I’m still waiting for a thank you card from that girl.

Watch your mailboxes this week, they’re a-comin’!

Sincerely,
In Thank You Card Purgatory

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Marybeth permalink
    June 16, 2010 3:35 pm

    1 year deadline? Sorry, but no such thing exists. There is no excuse for taking a YEAR to send thank you cards.

    • June 17, 2010 9:06 am

      According to The Emily Post Institute, thank you notes should be written as soon as possible and thank you’s for wedding gifts should be written within three months of the gift’s receipt. (There’s your deadline)

      But, I also have heard rumors that you have a year to send out thank you’s after your wedding, so obviously the writer had heard the same thing. At least she is still sending them out! I have a few gifts I’ve never received a thank you for!

  2. Miranda permalink
    June 17, 2010 6:41 am

    Yeah, I agree with Marybeth. No way should thank you cards take a year. Sorry, but you’re the rude one here. And it shouldn’t matter what the person gave you- even people who didn’t bring a gift should get a thank you card.

  3. Dana permalink
    June 17, 2010 8:42 am

    Ya, it sounds like you’re in the wrong here. There is no one year deadline. People deserve thank you cards for giving you A gift. You don’t get to judge if their gift is worthy of a thank you card. Maybe all these calls and emails should make you realize that you should get on this!

  4. June 17, 2010 1:18 pm

    I understand having a very busy life, especially after a wedding when you are working all the time, but I feel like everyone who came deserves a kind thank you. It shouldn’t matter the dollar amount or where it came from (I would love to get some awesome homemade art!); they brought something and came because they wanted to be part of the specialness of the day. Thank yous are very important and should go out ASAP.

  5. Jessica Mae permalink
    June 18, 2010 12:53 pm

    Sorry, I agree with Miranda, you are the rude one. Plus if you had time to plan a wedding, then i think that you should have time to write thank you notes. I don’t think that amount someone spends on your gift should matter, i think that the fact they gave you something should be acknowledged and appreciated. I mean everyone gives according to their means.

  6. July 9, 2010 9:02 pm

    yeah i havent been married yet but i think the guests would like the cards even if its been a year

  7. Sara permalink
    August 1, 2010 10:17 pm

    You should have written a few thank you cards out instead of writing the blog. What ever happened to time management?!

  8. Alli permalink
    January 1, 2011 7:22 pm

    Wow.. Seriously, you’re in the wrong with this one.

  9. Bride permalink
    January 28, 2011 6:33 pm

    Technically you do have a year, because guests have one year to get you a gift after the wedding BUT with that being said.

    Shame on you for writing this note telling people, who paid tons of money to come to your wedding and give you a nice gift that they are rude when you could not even pump out a couple hundred (maybe???) thank you cards to those people. I think we both know who the rude one is here.

    and dont pull the, im a new wife or still recovering from the big day thing…i had mine out two weeks after with pictures (over 100 thank yous!!)

    Get on it girl!

Leave a Reply

